Luigi Micheletti Award


The Luigi Micheletti Award

The Luigi Micheletti Award is the European prize for innovative museums in the world of contemporary history, industry and science. It is one of the leading activities of the Luigi Micheletti Foundation.

Up to and including the 2010 competition, candidates were drawn from the list of applicants for the European Museum of the Year Award, which is administered by the European Museum Forum. The EMYA candidates are either new museums, established for the firsttime during the past two or three years, or older museums which have be...


Prize Delivering
01/10/2017 @ 00:00

LUIGI MICHELETTI AWARD 2017 goes to the GPO WITNESS HISTORY VISITOR CENTRE, Dublin, Ireland. The General Post was seized by Irish rebels as the seat of the Provisional Irish Government. On Easter Monday 1916 the rebel leader Patrick Pearse read the Proclamation of Independence from its steps. 

The GPO was the centre of the battle between the Irish and the British in that ...

18/02/2017 @ 13:00

Launched in 1995 by the Micheletti Foundation and the European Museum Forum under the patronage of the Council of Europe, the Luigi Micheletti Award has put at the centre of the stage a series of innovative experiences of influence in the European museum field.

Shopping street in the 1927

2016 Winner

The judges said that Den Gamle By is a pioneering institution in the museological handling of the pressing social questions of our time. It is a museum for the people in the truest sense, showing great courage in addressing relevant subjects which elsewhere often fall victim to a nostalgic-romantic view of history. Den Gamle By makes a visit to the museum a communicative and inspiring experience. It demonstrates strikingly that culture is a wonderful way of reaching out to society. The jury had no hesitation in voting unanimously for this museum as the winner of the 2016 Micheletti Award...


Download the
Application Form